New to ferts. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-12-2014, 11:28 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to ferts.

Hi, I am new to the aquarium hobby and have decided to go with a planted tank for my 20g high. My plants have been in the for a few weeks now and have stopped melting for the most part. I have looked into fertilizing a bit, but it is still a little confusing on which fertilizers I will actually need for the plants I have and which method of fertilizing I should do. I have been using API Leaf Zone from day 1, but it doesn't seem to be helping much since it is really nothing but Potash, Iron and water. It seems like the most cost-effective way of fertilizing is by using dry ferts, so I think that is the way I will go.

My Tank:
https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/yo...=view&id=19866

I'm thinking of getting 1lb bags of Plantex CSM+B, Potassium Nitrate and Potassium Sulfate. No P, because I want to avoid any algae buildup and hopefully any leftover fish food would will be sufficient. Would that be about right for my tank? Will I need P anyway?

Would PPS dosing be for me? I do a 30% PWC weekly and don't want to be doing extra or larger PWCs. I don't have any test kits for nutrients and I prefer daily dosing to weekly. I just don't know how to figure out how much I need to be dosing of each fert.

Summary:
Im new...
Which ferts?
Which method?
How much do I dose? Or where can I find out?

Last edited by Animag771; 06-13-2014 at 12:11 AM. Reason: fixed incomplete sentence
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-12-2014, 11:42 PM
Algae Grower

Google aquarium plant fertilizer calculator.

This will tell you exactly how much of what to use and how often for what ever size your tank is and your dosing bottle.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-13-2014, 12:43 AM
Algae Grower