Do high tech planted tanks reduce GH fast? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-01-2014, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
Do high tech planted tanks reduce GH fast?

Let's say you have a heavily planted high tech tank, and you don't do water changes for at least 3 weeks, will the plants reduce the GH in your water? My understanding is that GH is what measures calcium and magnesium. I am fairly new to planted tanks, so I hope I'm not asking an ignorant question.

Last edited by lauraleellbp; 06-02-2014 at 06:04 AM. Reason: spelling
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-02-2014, 05:44 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)
It isn't an ignorant question. It is one that needs to be discussed periodically. Plants use calcium and magnesium, but those are not used in such large quantities that depleting the GH will be a problem, except possibly for very low GH tanks. I don't recall seeing anyone report a problem caused by such depletion of the typical GH range water we use. However, not all well water contains adequate magnesium, so it can be possible to be short on magnesium, whether the plants use it up or not. Checking your water company water quality report should show whether there is significant magnesium in the water.

Hoppy
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-02-2014, 01:17 PM
Plant Whisperer

PTrader: (28/100%)
I agree completely with Hoppy. Plants do not use Ca and Mg very quickly at all. They are not really considered "macro" nutrients because they aren't used as much as NPK. I'd estimate only a few ppm a week are used up.

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-02-2014, 04:23 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (267/100%)
I think ratio dry weights would suggest maybe 2 ppm of either, per week... would be at the high non limiting end.

Regards,
Tom Barr
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-02-2014, 07:47 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed