Using more then the manufacturer recommends.. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-18-2014, 10:24 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Using more then the manufacturer recommends..

So I got a brand new API Pondmaster test kit for the pond, and I figured although it doesn't do nitrates, it tests pH, Ammonia, nitrites, and phosphates. Everything was perfect across the board, 7.0 pH (tap is 7.6 according to the kit, so assuming thats from CO2), 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, but 0 phosphates?? I tested the tank approx 5 hours after I dosed phosphates, and it was already gone?

I've been using Seachem's Aquavitro line following the dosing guidelines on their website:
Day of the Week Product Dose
Day 1, 3, 5 propel 1 inner cap (7 ml) per 70 US gallons ( 280 L)
activate 1 ml per 36 US gallons (136 L)
synthesis 1 ml per 36 US gallons (136 L)

Day 2, 4, 6 propel 1 inner cap (7 ml) per 70 US gallons ( 280 L)
envy 1 inner cap (7 ml) per 40 US gallons (150 L)

Day 7 Water Change

Propel is a concentrated (10,000 mg/L) source of ferrous iron.
Activate is a concentrated (6,000 mg/L P) phosphorus source
Synthesis is a concentrated (32,000 mg/L N) nitrogen source
On the bottles: use with activate to provide nitrogen and phosphorus in a 5:1 N:P ratio
Envy is micros and other vitamins, too many to list