New tank - Paramaters @ day 4. Is it ok? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-26-2008, 04:12 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (1/100%)
New tank - Paramaters @ day 4. Is it ok?

I'm VERY new to aquariums, this is my first aquarium ever, and its also my first planted tank. Here are the parameters at day 4. I have no idea how to interpret values, but have a vague idea criteria represents. I bought a test kit and these are the results; are they ok? recommendations? helpful websites?

ph 8.0
KH 100
GH 140
Ca2 60
PO4 0
NO2 0.3
NO3 10
NH3/NH4 1.2
Fe2 0 (free and chelated)
MG2 10

* 10 gallon tank, current 4 zebra danios, 5 rummy nose tetras, hairgrass, dwarf hairgrass, hc, micro sword, anubias nana. micro sword yellowing a bit, others are ok.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-26-2008, 04:30 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (60/100%)
Sounds like you have a bit of reading to do about the cycling process. This is a great website to get a good idea about this hobby. http://www.rexgrigg.com/

Basically, it looks like the cycle is taking place in your tank right now. What you'll see is an increase in ammonia from fish waste. This is then converted to nitrItes by bacteria. This is then converted to nitrAtes by other bacteria. NitrItes and ammonia are harmful to fish, but nitrAtes are safe, when kept in a reasonable range, which shouldn't be a problem in a planted tank, as plants need them to grow. So, the ammonia builds, which leads to an increase in the good bacteria, which leads to nitrItes, which leads to more good bacteria. Once these bacterial colonies build to a sufficient level for your bioload, you should never see any ammonia or nitrItes, as the bacteria convert them immediately.

Also, read about the silent cycle method on Rex's website. It's a great way to cycle a planted tank. HTH Good luck!

Mike