new tank, well water and first water test... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-26-2008, 02:45 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
new tank, well water and first water test...

I am setting up a new 90g show tank. Trying to research everything and do it right, auto co2, AH lighting, eheim etc. With my co2 system came some basic test kits. So last night I gave them a whirl, I have planned to drive inot the big city and have the water tested correctly, but this is the first shot. Living in the country we have well water.

PH - dark blue 7.6 (it could be higher because this is the darkest blue shade on the test kit, is this correct assumption?)

KH - fifteen drops immediately changed color, so its way off my charts,

GH - 10 drops changed color, 179

I am new to fresh water so any suggestions would help, we do have iron staining on our shower, sink and toilet, is this bad? Thanks Debby

Last edited by debbykyle; 04-01-2008 at 12:23 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-26-2008, 05:03 AM

Quote:
KH - one drop immediately changed color, so I'm guessing less than one or 17.9
I think KH that low with co2 on a controller will be trouble,
you will need to add something.

Do a search on KH buffering, you will be reading for hours

GH is ok & Ph is ok
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-26-2008, 05:11 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (59/100%)
Degass your water for at least 24 hours before testing pH, you may get different results. If your KH is that low, you should definitely have a lower pH than that.
It sounds like your water is great. You will need a drop checker with a calibrated 4dKH solution in it to test your CO2, or you will have to learn to listen to your fish and plants, which is more difficult at first

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.