Outgassing- sponge filters vs. powerheads vs... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-26-2008, 06:53 PM Thread Starter
Fresh Fish Freak

PTrader: (70/100%)
Outgassing- sponge filters vs. powerheads vs...

OK- I'm a total NewB with the whole CO2/outgassing issue, but I've been reading quite a number of threads that have made claims that puzzle me?

I've seen most CO2 users discourage the use of sponge filters, but instead encourage the use of powerheads. I understand how powerheads are better to use with the actual CO2 setup/distribution of CO2 in the tank, but I don't understand why people discourage the use of sponge filters because they would outgas CO2 more quickly than a powerhead?

Entirely possible I am missing something here, but by my logic, whichever filter exposes the most water to the air would be more responsible for outgassing CO2- and IME powerheads usually produce much more surface water circulation than sponge filters. Wouldn't whichever filter is producing the most surface exposure be the filter that is responsible for the most outgassing?

100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Next meeting Monday, Oct 13, 2014 @ 7:15pm- See ya there!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-26-2008, 07:06 PM
Banned

PTrader: (24/100%)
air driven sponge filters cause turbulence (bubbling) on the surface of the water which increases out gassing of C02. A powerhead creates little to not surface turbulence, so limited or no out gassing.

Ehfipimp #273 ( Eheim Classic: 2260, 2217, Eheim Ecco: 2236, 2232 ) Fluval FX5

post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-26-2008, 07:08 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (60/100%)
Quote: