Various algae taking over my tank, please help! "EI dosing & Co2" - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-29-2014, 04:24 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Various algae taking over my tank, please help! "EI dosing & Co2"

Hi

So my new 200 litre tank was going fine these last 4-5 months, but these last couple of weeks I'm getting terrible growth, all types of algae. I feel like giving up with the plants Please read on and I hope someone can assist me.

I'm not a professional or anything but from what I have learnt they say CO2 CO2 CO2 to almost any algae crisis, and algae shouldn't be a issue to much. Its been a struggle to grow my carpeting plants as it is, and now there all ruined thanks to some brown dust, could be diatoms.

So here are some descriptions of the new algae I have been facing, brown dust, green dust, it was already annoying doing a w/c every week scrubbing green spot algae of the glass, I try to keep it real clean, and now not only is there more of that, I'm getting green dusty smudgy stuff, brown smudgy stuff, I had an outbreak of BBA on mostly my bog wood, I boiled and bleached my wood so that's that fixed for now. I also have green spot algae on old leafs, and some of my plants seemed to be yellowing, and getting large holes in the leafs.

The only thing I changed recently was I upped my co2 to try and get even more faster growth rates, but now it seems its all gone down hill, so not sure if its fluctuating, I don't think it is, but its so hard to count the bubbles, its at about 2.6bps.

Next I looked up plant deficiencies, straight away Phosphate deficiency stood out, and for the pin holes I upped the potassium. I have not seen any improvement, and on all diagrams on the internet, it does not mention green dust and brown dust, or diatoms, so I'm not sure what to change or add to fix this to help recover my plants, so I presume this is another problem rather than a deficiency.