Ammonia questions.... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-18-2014, 04:47 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (40/100%)
Ammonia questions....

I recently purchased the seachem ammonia alert for my fluval spec two that I replaced the substrate with Amazonia, it's been close to three days now and the thing still hasn't changed colors to detect ammonia in the tank. Then I got to reading seachem a website and what they say about this product. And that brought me to question whether the ammonia Amazonia releases is gases or ionized ammonia because the ph is below 7.... I'm no scientist but being in this hobby you have to pick up some basic biology and chemistry to have a succesful tank.

This exert is basically saying in a tank with a ph oh less than 7 ammonia (gas) cannot exist, but ionized ammonia can exist which is not harmful for fish. Is this true?and can someone please explain this in a more literal term. I get confused easy unless it's a hands on learning process.