CO2 - Which is right and other questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-13-2014, 07:05 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
CO2 - Which is right and other questions

I've read a bit on the CO2 topic here and elsewhere and have just a few questions for clarification. This area seems like a very tricky balancing act and as this is my first time using a CO2 diffuser in a tank, I need to get this straight.

My set up:

6.6 gallons
Up-Aqua CO2 system
Baseline Ph: 7.6
Baseline kh: 30 ppm

1. In one thread, a person said 3 ppm of CO2 was the right amount. Other articles and threads say 15-35 ppm of CO2 is right. Which is correct? Gotta get this one right.

2. The dumbest of the questions. ppm is independent of the amount of water, correct? 15ppm of CO2 in 75 gallon is the same as 15ppm of CO2 in my tank. The only differing bit is the amount of CO2 needed to achieve the desired CO2 amount.

3. I just set up the CO2 unit in my tank. I plan to run it for 24 hours before checking CO2 levels. I am running roughly 1 bubble every 6-7 seconds (manufacturer said 1 every 3 seconds but setting a precise release amount is very difficult) and the CO2 is entering the tank at a small trickle.

When I test the water tomorrow, do I test it right out of the tank or take out some water and let it sit a while before testing?

4. Will the CO2 ppm drop when I introduce live plants?

5. To adjust the ph, I use an acid and alkaline buffers when needed) made by Seachem. I am confused about whether or not it is ok to use them to set the needed ph/kh to achieve the desired CO2 ppm. In some stuff I have read, it makes it sound like the moment I introduce them into my water it will forever throw off any CO2 measurements.