Could someone help me with dosing fetz in a low tech tank? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-09-2014, 09:32 AM Thread Starter
Banned

PTrader: (6/100%)
Could someone help me with dosing fetz in a low tech tank?

I have paranoid schizophrenia and I have problems comprehending stuff. I have to read things over and over and sometimes I still don't get it. This whole planted aquarium thing has been baby steps for me. I've been keeping fish for 20 years but I'm finding plants difficult. I've been able to keep Anubias to a degree but I'm having trouble keeping other plants.

I have a 30 gallon tank with a current led + fixture. I'm using eco complete for a substrate. I have quite a few plants in it but it's not fully loaded. I have crypts anubias bolbitis and a red tiger lotus. I added some giant duckweed for more plant mass.

I recently purchased the full line of seachem fertz. I have nitrogen, potassium, phosphorus, iron, trace, comprehensive and excel.

I would like to start using fertz for better growth. I based my tank off of this guide here.

http://www.sudeepmandal.com/hobbies/...ed-tank-guide/

It's says that I can dose low amounts of fetz once a week and not have to do water changes which is what I'm aiming for. I'm having a hard time figuring out how much of what to dose?

I want to keep the tank as low maintenance as possible.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-09-2014, 10:03 AM
Planted Tank Guru

First any liquid fert list will eat you out of house and home if the tank is a 30g for the amount of them you will use.
It's not at all extreme in a 30 but after you buy them over and over in one year you will understand.
Second with NO water changes you can't have much hope of having a successful tank.
One water change per week IS minimum maintenance.
When I have an infection I don't ask the doctor for something to control it.