New to fertilizers - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-06-2013, 05:02 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
New to fertilizers

Hello Everyone-

As the title says, I'm new to fertilizers.

I have started a 40 G breeder tank that I would like to make it heavily planted.
My idea is for it to be low tech, no CO2, and low maintenance.
I'm running a fluvial 306 canister with Finnex FugeRay Ultra Slim LED Fixture 36".
Substrate is eco-complete with flourish substrate tabs.

I'm planning on getting the very basic KNO3, KH2PO, and CSM+B.

My question are:
Can I dose the CSM+B dry or do I need to make a solution?(I've read some people having issues with mold)

Where can I get this stuff? I'm in the RI/MA line and don't think I could find it locally.

How do I dose it?
-Per Tom Barr's recommendation, a 20 gallon would be dose like this
1/8 Teaspoon of KNO3 (Potassium Nitrate) (5.27 ppm NO3 and 3.32 ppm K)
1/32 Teaspoon of KH2PO4 (Potassium Mono Phosphate) (1.61 ppm PO4 and 0.66 ppm K)
So I would double it?

Should I get anything in addition to the basic mentioned?

I was planning on dosing (very small amounts) once a week per Tom's recommendations and doing occasional water changes.

I very open to any suggestions and recommendations.

I appreciate everyone's time and your responses. Like I said, I'm new but tend to be a quick learner.

Thanks-
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-06-2013, 05:37 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (538/100%)
My question are:
Can I dose the CSM+B dry or do I need to make a solution?(I've read some people having issues with mold)

You can do either doesnt matter

Where can I get this stuff? I'm in the RI/MA line and don't think I could find it locally.

Cant answer this questions without getting in trouble

How do I dose it?
1/32 Teaspoon of KH2PO4 (Potassium Mono Phosphate) (1.61 ppm PO4 and 0.66 ppm K)
So I would double it?

Yes