Battle with pH and kH! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 10:03 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Battle with pH and kH!

Hey guys,

I am new to closely monitoring water parameters, and let me tell you, I am having some trouble.

I am at a stage in my tank where I am just trying to grow a carpet and cycle my tank. I've been advised that maintaining a roughly neutral pH and a kH of at least 3 degrees is helpful for this.

Without intervention, my pH is 6 and my kH is 0... I added bicarb soda to get these parameters to where I want them. I am using pressurised CO2 as well, at a rate of 1-2 bps.

After two days though, they've returned to what they were originally. Of course I can keep adding bicarb every few days, but is that entirely necessary? Should I have to? Is there a more permanent way to increase these parameters?

I hope these aren't entirely daft questions...

Thanks in advance for any help or advice you can give! =]

Past time tropical fish keeper. Re-engaging by tackling the planted aquarium!

Starting Small!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Needs updating...

Progress: Algae is (finally) under control with new plants that are establishing well. I think I'm about to start fertilising... :S
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 11:15 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (18/100%)
Don't bother battling it. Fighting your water is a fruitless endeavour. At this point you should be running your co2 as high as possible.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 12:39 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Yes, keep adding the baking soda or any other form of carbonate. Potassium bicarbonate is good.
The nitrifying bacteria need the carbonates.