Co2 and size of tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-14-2007, 03:09 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Co2 and size of tank

Does the size of the aquarium have any bearing on the amount of Co2 that should be used, or can the amount of plants affect the decision. Or do you use the same amount of Co2 whatever. I am new to the addition of Co2 into my aquarium, and i am about to add Co2 injection via a pressurized system, so any advice would be more than welcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-14-2007, 03:44 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tourney View Post
Does the size of the aquarium have any bearing on the amount of Co2 that should be used, or can the amount of plants affect the decision. Or do you use the same amount of Co2 whatever. I am new to the addition of Co2 into my aquarium, and i am about to add Co2 injection via a pressurized system, so any advice would be more than welcome.
Indeed it is both… the volume of water and the plant density or loading. The more water the more Co2 needed to get the Co2 level to 20-30 ppm. The more plants the more absorption of the Co2. For a 100gal aquarium, I have a 10lb bottle I use for my planted discus tank. Based on what I am seeing in so far as use, it should last about 6 months. Other variables include surface area and the use of air stones. During the day the plants should provide more than enough O2 and no air stones should be running. Sumps, depending on how they are implemented can also increase Co2 losses. I have found that my sump hasn’t been too bad on my Co2 demands. If you are going to keep it simple (no pH contoller) then you should start with at least a Co2 indicator so that you and get the right bubble count during the day. There are a lot of great threads on this forum on this subject. Go to Rex's web page. It's full of great recommendations.

Rex's Guide to Planted Tanks