Very Hard Water & The Use Of C02 - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-15-2006, 11:19 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Very Hard Water & The Use Of C02

Hi all,

I am new to planted aquariums so please go easy on me as I am more used to reef aquariums!

My first question is that I have read a lot of people saying that you should not mess around with your tap water too much to try to get hardness and pH down and I wanted to know your views on this. I live in a very hardwater area and am concerned that my success setting up a planted aquarium will be somewhat limited. Here are my water parameters from a sample of tap water which was left standing for just over12 hours -

pH = 8
Nitrate = 3 mg/L
GH = 240 mg/L
KH = 180 mg/L

My next question is the use of C02. I am setting up a 24gal Nano and only want to plant the tank (about 1 third of the tank) with some easy to care for plants (low lighting plants) and wanted to know if the C02 is really necessary? The lighting will come from a 24watt power compact (hence I know I cannot have many light loving plants) but I wondered C02 is really necessary for such a small tank?

For additional information, I will be using Eco Complete substrate and will be performing a 35% water change each week using Prime water conditioner.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-17-2006, 11:03 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (87/100%)
Howdy Blue Ram,

Your water is not all that hard and many plants will grow fine in it.

The main factor in determining whether you need CO2 is the strength of your lighting. You will have 1 WPG (watt per gallon) which is considered very low light. At that light level CO2 is not required, however even at low light, CO2 is beneficial on any size tank.