a newbie here - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-15-2006, 07:49 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Send a message via AIM to Chadwick19904
Question a newbie here

Hello I am wanting to start a Co2 tank I am willing to spend $500 on supplies and things to get started. I am in the USAF and don't always have all the time in the world; so it needs to be auto if pos. any recommendations on a system and how big of a Co2 tank? I have a 55 gal with 3 yoyo's, 3 clowns, 5 corys, 2 platys, 2 guppies, and bushy nose pleco male. Ph is 8.3. I am using 2 hydro V sponge filters w/ a 60 wispers air pump (blue dome) a Coralife 2x 64wt freshwater light and adding a canaster filter with biowheel haven't decided what kind as of yet. also please help with PH my fish are fine but i belive if i start getting more plants that i will kill em or eventually harm my fish. thanks [email protected]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-15-2006, 04:57 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)
WELCOME!

That PH does seem a bit high. The first thing to do is find out why it is high in the first place. I assume you are getting water from the tap... set some out in a bucket for a couple days and check it's PH... If it matches what is in your tank, then your tap water is just high... however, if it doesn't match, then there is something in your tank that is spiking up the PH (sand, corals, shells, rocks, all can do this if they are not 'innert').

One reason water is often high in PH is the bicarbonate hardness, or KH. They are linked to each-other. Some KH is good for plants, since they break carbon out of it (I don't really know the specifics) and lots of plants will slowly reduce the KH and PH, but not if there is something in the tank pushing it back up again. And I am not too sure if the plants would be affected badly by that PH or not. They seem quite happy in my innitial 7.8 PH.