Weird Water Readings... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-05-2006, 09:53 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Weird Water Readings...

Ok, I'm still new to the whole planted aquarium thing, but this has me a bit concerned.

I went out today and picked up an American Pharmecuticals GH/KH test kit. I've suspected for awhile that Dallas water tends towards the hard side, but I wanted to double check.

Anyway, here are the readings I got:

KH = 4 = 71.6ppm

GH = 16 (!!!!) = 286.4 ppm

That's off the AP chart!

So I tested my tap water. It came out to:

GH = 9 = 161.1ppm

I double checked my tank water and got the 16 rating again.

So anyone want to hazard a guess as to what's causing this HUGE spike in my GH? There are only 2 things I can think of. Early on (as in 2-3 years ago), I used to dose with aquarium salt. But I certainly haven't added any of that for at least a year and a half (though I did bring about 1/2 of the original tank water with me when I moved last year). I also used to have silk plants in the tank with metal wires in the stems. These eventually began to rust. They're all gone now as of Monday (when the real plants went in).

I can't imagine this GH level can be good for anyone (though the fish seem to be doing just fine -- the most recent additions were from almost a month ago). Still, I'm seriously considering getting a few gallons of R/O water and doing a water change (Though at this rate, it would seem I'd have to replace almost half the tank water to bring the levels down to "normal"!).

Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-05-2006, 10:44 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (36/100%)
What type of gravel do you have?

- Satu

Eheim Pimp #152
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-06-2006, 12:29 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (65/100%)
Do you "top off" the tank with tap water?

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-06-2006, 05:20 AM Thread Starter