Dosing question for Bleaklow - UK Manchester and Area - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-26-2006, 09:19 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Dosing question for Bleaklow - UK Manchester and Area

Thanks for the reply yesterday
My water parameters are

KH 4.5 (using JBL AquaDur Plus to increase as water is so soft)
PH 6.8
CO2 - approx 21ppm
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate - 25ppm
Phosphates (after last water change) - 4ppm

What test kits do you use ? What's recommended in the UK ?
I've been using JBL and they seem OK !?

I'm currently using
JBL Biotopol water conditioner to remove chlorine
Seachem Flourish (weekly after water change)
Seachem Flourish Trace (twice weekly)

As I'm relatively new to this any advice on what works well in our
area would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Gary

I reject your reality and substitute my own

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-26-2006, 10:18 AM

Hi Gary

I use a range of test kits - JBL like you for KH and GH. I've got an electronic pH meter. I use lab grade kits from Merck for Nitrates and Phosphate and an AZOO Fe test kit. Although the only ones I really use regularly are the KH, GH and the Nitrates. The all seem accurate enough +/- 1 degree for the KH and GH when I've made up some standard solutions at work.