C02 ppm rate - confused - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-25-2006, 05:17 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
C02 ppm rate - confused

I am more than a little confused.

Just started pressurized Co2 last week and was doing my normal weekly water testing (necessary for now despite dosing EI - I'm a newbie needing to understand what my water parameters are and how everything correlates).

So I calculated my Co2 levels based on Chuck Gadds calculator and I'm reading 16.6 ppm. Now, Chuck's website says that's decent. Rex Grigg's site says otherwise, in fact, everything I've heard about Co2 is that I should shoot for 30 ppm.

Quote:
Chuck Gadd:

A desireable CO2 level is 10-25ppm (which is indicated in green on the chart). Levels below that don't provide optimum CO2 concentrations for high plant growth. CO2 concentrations over 25ppm can be harmful to the inhabitants of your tank. I typically shoot for 15ppm CO2.
Quote:
Rex Grigg:

The ideal CO2 levels for a planted tank are in the 20-30 ppm range.
So, what am I suposed to be aiming for? As of today, I saw pearling, so that's a good sign. No gasping fish - also a good sign. Here's my readings, give your thoughts, please on all - Co2 and otherwise. All suggestions, ideas and feedback greatly appreciated. I have soooooo much to learn still and appreciate the wealth of knowledge you fine folk provide!!

PH 6.6
NH3 0
KH 40
GH 80
No2 0
P04 1
No3 5

Thanks!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-25-2006, 05:36 AM
The Weather's Here

PTrader: (41/100%)
Well, with a kh of 4 and a ph of 6.6 you are injecting 30ppm of CO2, not 16ppm. I inject around 40ppm. I've gone up to 100ppm accidentally for a day or two with no loss of fish. I would say anywhere from 30ppm-40ppm CO2 with a little surface agitation is a good level.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.