Need help understanding my test results - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-09-2006, 07:00 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (3/100%)
Need help understanding my test results

Hey everyone. I just received my test kit Hagen Master Test Kit. I would like to share my test results with everyone since I am new to test.

It seems my water hardness is off the chart. However, I do have tetras (some establish and some new) that are doing fine. I was thinking about incorporating some peat into my aquarium.

I would greatly appreciate any advice or comments whether on the peat or my test results.

NO2 – 0.1 mg/L NO2

pH (6.0-7.6) – 7.0

pH (7.4-8.6) – 7.6

Fe – 0 mg/L

GH – 30.2 - 33.5
I was confused with this test. Instructions said to add 1 drop of GH Reagent until the color changed from pink to blue. The first test I had to add 27 drops, the second test I added 30 drops. Then multiply the total number of drops by 20 to determine the General Hardness. The first test would be 27x20 = 540. The second test would be 30x30 = 600. What I found out by reading other threads is that you are suppose to divide by 17.9, which the instructions did not state (thank God for this site). That brings the GH to 30.2 - 33.5, could my water be that hard?

KH – 30 mg/L
I added 3 drops of KH. I then multiplied the drops by 10 to determine the Carbonate Hardness. 3x10 = 30

PO4 – 5.0 mg/L

NO3 – 110 mg/L

NH3/NH4 - .1 mg/L?
Another confusing test. After performing the test, I compared the result with the color chart, which read 0.1. Then it states for ammonia as nitrogen (NH3-N) divide result by 1.22, which is .08. There was a number chart that the y-axis (left side) is for pH, and the x-axis (bottom) is for NH3.

Ca – ?