New tank parameters - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-26-2003, 11:16 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
I'm a planted tank newbie and I just recently filled and set up my first tank. I am concerned about the following water parameters (day 4 or so after initial set up):

dKH: 5-6
dGH: 5-6
pH: ~7.7
CO2 (from test): 5-6ppm

I am currently running a DIY 2-liter bottle yeast generator with a ceramic diffuser. However, this tank contains a trickling waterfall and some surface agitation (no splashing). So...how the heck can I increase the CO2 levels in my tank? I'm trying to grow glosso (which will probably fail, given my water parameters)...anyway, I'd like to push the CO2 levels up to 10 ppm at the very least.

Any advice would be great--thanks!

^iMp^
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-27-2003, 01:09 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
How big is this tank?

FILSTAR Pimp #2

75 gal heavily planted,50/50 Black beauty,Eco-complete substrate, Pressurised CO2 with solenoid, ph controller, AB Reactor 1000, 330 watts 9325K GE PC lighting,Ehiem Liquidoser, 2-Filstar xp3 canisters.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-27-2003, 11:12 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

20 gallon tank with a 5 gallon sump...but neither are completely filled (its a paludarium). I'd say that there is about 10 gallons of water in the system.

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-27-2003, 11:18 PM
Are these real?

PTrader: (192/100%)
A water fall??? I would think it will be very hard to get the CO2 levels up, if this trickling water fall is part of the system... Maybe less demanding plants?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-28-2003, 01:20 AM
PT Biologist

PTrader: (4/100%)