Fish Kill (long) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-19-2006, 05:44 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fish Kill (long)

I am trying to figure out how I killed 4 discus and I think there could be several things going on. I hope someone can help me sort it out.

Last weekend I made a rookie mistake. My filtration consists of a Fluval 403 that is usually cleaned every blue moon and a Magnum 350 with the micron filter that injects the CO2. I know the Magnum doesn’t provide biological filtration so I clean it almost every week. I have been doing this for 9 years (2 years with CO2). I started to think that maybe my algae problem had something to do with the Fluval being dirty. I had added the discus in November increasing the fish load so I cleaned it on Saturday at the same time I did the Magnum. Even though I only cleaned half of the sponges I woke up the next day to find the discus really stressed. One was dead and several of the others were lying on their sides at the bottom of the tank. All water parameters tested normal except for the nitrite test which gave a reading of 0.3 when I normally don’t have anything, so I figured that was the problem. Two 50% water changes got it down and the rest of the fish recovered. This was on Sunday.

Monday and Tuesday nitrites were 0 and things in the tank were back to normal. Tuesday evening I did a 50% water change. I didn't look at the tank closely Wednesday morning and got a call from my wife that another discus had died. She said all the fish in the tank were gasping at the surface. I got her to get that fish out of the tank, and she told me later in the day that everything seemed OK in that they weren't at the surface any more. (Realize she is a non-fish person.)