Plantex & K2SO4 questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-26-2005, 06:12 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (14/100%)
Send a message via Yahoo to otter
Plantex & K2SO4 questions

I'm just about out of the Kent micros that I've been using for micros for the past several months and I'm ready to mix up GW's potion but I have some questions first and I'm super paranoid about changing anything after all that I've been through and all of the algae that I've battled (and won)!

I figure it'll be convenient to reuse the Kent bottle for the Plantex (CSM+B) solution, but it's 17oz, is this too much to mix up at once? What exactly is the best way to mix it up? Tap water? The PMDD recipe from GW says to add Magnesium Sulfate, but my tap water KH is already 15, should I skip the MgSO4.7H2O? I also have a sack of Fe, should I be adding this to the Plantex solution? How and how much?

I bought some K2SO4 when I ordered all this stuff, but it wasn't in TB's dosing regime but I see it in others EI regimes.. should I be dosing this? (I'm currently dosing 3/8Tsp KNO3, 1/16Tsp KKH2PO4, & 10mL micros 3x per week).

Also, I bought some Nutrafin "Plant Gro" fertilizer sticks that are supposedly good for a whole year. I stuck one under my new Red Tiger Lotus, and it's suddenly huge and beautiful! Could've just been the new environment though, anybody use these? Do I need to take the ferts in these things into consideration when dosing dry ferts, or does it not matter since they're not in the water column? Would my Crypt benefit from these?

Oh yeah, ... I almost forgot. I also have a bottle of this Kent stuff called "ProPlant" Freshwater plant gowth accelerator. It says "This product provides bio-available nitrogen, magnesium, and micronutrients..."Sources of nutrients: Sodium Nitrate, Magnesium Sulfate, Boric acid. Is useful for anything? It was supposed to be a supplement to the other Kent stuff.