Started DIY CO2, Ph has dropped. Stop CO2 or add baking soda? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 11-29-2005, 10:27 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Started DIY CO2, Ph has dropped. Stop CO2 or add baking soda?

Hi,

I recently started adding DIY CO2 to my tank. My plants seem to have picked up pretty well and I seem to have gotten rid of my cloudy water since I started adding CO2.

My only concern now is that my Ph has dropped and I've lost a couple of fish.

My tank parameters are:

Temp: 25C
Ph: 6.4 or 6.6
Ammonia & Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: somewhere between 0 and 5.0.
GH & KH - I'm new to this test and 3 drops seemed to change the water to the colours mentioned in the instructions (looking straight down the tube).

Out of the tap, my water Ph is 7.2 and I've tested water that has stood for a day or so and the Ph is around 7.0 or even 7.2.

I've got a couple of pieces of driftwood in the tank that have been there for about 3 months. I know they may drop the Ph a little but I used to see 7.0 or 6.8 before the DIY CO2.

Should I stop the CO2 and let the Ph come back up or is there something else I need to do? I've read elsewhere on the forum about adding baking soda? How does this help?

Thanks in advance

Chris
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 11-29-2005, 12:07 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (65/100%)
Three drops on the test tells us nothing without knowing which test it is.

Normally you would give us the kH either in ppm or degrees.

Some tests are made so that each drop equals 1° and others are made so that each drop equals 10 ppm. Now seeing as how there are ~17.9 ppm in each 1° you can see the problem. We have to guess if you have around 30 ppm which would be a low kH or around 3° which is a borderline kH.

Also without knowing the kH we are unable to determine the CO2 levels.