WATER PARAMETERS: P04/GH too high, C02 too low - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-05-2005, 02:20 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
WATER PARAMETERS: P04/GH too high, C02 too low

Can someone help me decipher this, please?

A complete description of my set-up is in my signature block.

Seems my P04 and GH is way too high, C02 is way too low. Where should the parameters be? How do I bring my water in line with this?

Here's my tap parameters:
PH: 7.3
KH: 30
GH: 60
Co2: 2.5
Ammonia: 0.05
N03: 0.1

Here's what I have:
PH: 7.0
KH: 60
GH: 200
Co2: 10.2
Ammonia: 0.05
N03: 0.0

Just tested P04 and it = 5.0

Any help and advice is ALWAYS appreciated, but please go easy on me, I need pretty basic instruction. I'm REALLY new to all this and it quickly becomes overwhelming.

Much thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-05-2005, 12:39 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
Are you adding anything like Seachem Equilibrium after your water changes to increase the KH and GH like that? Otherwise you must have some form of rock or seashell in your tank to be doing that. Since your tap water is so soft (both alkalinity and general), it isn't bad, but you need to know what is raising it.

PO4 testkits lie, so you may still be fine on it. I would still continue to dose PO4 regardless.

what are you doing to add co2 (i.e. DIY, or pressurized system)?

What else do you dose? I assume no NO3 since you have 0. Traces?

Maybe a more in-detail explanation of your dosing regime will help any actual deciphering.

Cliff
450g Planted Discus Tank - Work in Process!
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-05-2005, 06:10 PM Thread Starter

Unhappy Struggle from the get-go

Thanks Cliff/Spar! This has been a crazy procedure... people like me should no be allowed to own tanks. I feel like such a fish-mom failure!