Dosing by "rule of thumb" or regular testing? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-14-2005, 12:58 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Dosing by "rule of thumb" or regular testing?

Wow, all the information on this forum is making me spin. Thanks everyone!

I'm new to aquariums, and set up a planted tank almost 3 weeks ago. I'm just now getting around to dosing (algae!).

I've read the dosing stickey and Rex Grigg's websight about dosing, and I gather that although there's a "rule of thumb" of how to dose a 20 gal tank, that matching your tank's exact needs are better. Do most people determine the tank's needs by testing nitrates, phosphates, iron, potassium, hardnesses, etc. or by looking at plant growth and symptoms (or some combination of the two)?

I have the Tetratest Laborett (tests pH, GH, KH, nitrites, ammonia) which seem to work fine for me (except that pH scale isn't very sensitive, only distinguishes values by 0.5) but which other tests are necessary? I assume that nitrates and phosphates are most important, but what about Fe and K?

If your answers depend on my tank specs, here they are:
Incredible plant growth and pearling, in spite of abundant green hair (I think) algae.
Eco-complete substrate and Hagan natural CO2 system.
In the evening I have:
pH=7
KH=5 (thanks to baking soda)
Calculate 15.0ppm CO2 (a.m. calculation is 47ppm; pH accuracy? no gasping fish)
GH=3.5 (I think Eco-complete brought this up a bit, tapwater is GH=1.5)
Nitrites, Ammonia both zero
Don't know Nitrates, Phosphates, Fe, K

I'd appreciate any advice, as I still find it difficult to translate all the subtleties of aquarium care to my own situation!

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-14-2005, 01:40 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

I also have a question on this topic. Is it ok if I don't have any water testing stuff?
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-14-2005, 02:47 AM
jgc
Planted Tank Enthusiast