Is Aqua Soil or CO2 lowering my KH from 18 to 7? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-06-2013, 04:24 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (10/100%)
Is Aqua Soil or CO2 lowering my KH from 18 to 7?

I'm new to CO2 (only doing 24x7 DIY right now) and I've only recently dove into understanding the relationship between CO2, KH, and PH. I started testing my tank this week for PH/KH, and now I'm more confused and I'm trying to figure out what's going on.

Directly from the faucet, tested immediately, my tap water is:

PH 7.4
KH 18

According to the KH/PH charts, I have about 20ppm CO2 in my tap. This is confirmed by letting my tap water sit in a cup for a day, and PH goes to 8.2.

I did a 50% water change last Sunday, as I do every Sunday since I am dosing EI. I did another 50% water change on Wednesday because my nitrates were running a bit high, and out of curiosity I took a cup of tank water just before the change and let it sit out. I finally tested it today and I got:

PH 8.2 (expected)
KH 10 (uhh... huh?)

KH at 10? What? Where did all that KH go? I was expecting that if I kept putting 18 KH water in, I should get 18 KH water out. Since it was still morning and my lights had not come on yet and my drop checker was still yellowish, I took a quick tank sample and I got:

PH 6.8 (37ppm CO2 according to the charts)
KH 8

So my tank was at KH 10 on wednesday, and I swapped 1/2 of the water with water that has a KH of 18, and now just 3 days later KH is at 8? I tested it tonight just before lights out and I got:

PH 7.0 (around 21ppm CO2 according to the charts)
KH 7

Tomorrow will be another 50% water change, but I'm curious why my KH drops so much. Here are my tank parameters (up and running for 6 weeks):

12 Gallon Fluval Edge (17 x 10 x 18)
27W PC Light 16" above substrate
DIY CO2
ADA Aqua Soil (a little less than a 9L bag)
Relatively heavily planted for it's size
Dosing at 1/2 EI