Nutrient deficiencies vs over fertilizing - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-04-2012, 05:19 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (14/100%)
Nutrient deficiencies vs over fertilizing

I am new to using fertilizers and I just can't seem to get it right. I have 2 tanks. The first is a Biocube containing HC, Xmass moss, and dwarf sag. It's medium light 10g. I have been dosing seaChem line of ferts and I seem to always be getting algae blooms. Over fertilizing right? I cut the fertilizing all together and doesn't seem to be helping. I have a pressurized co2 system 2.

The other tank is a 20l dirt with cap. Variety of plant including those mentioned above. Pressurized co2. I have never dosed this tank and I am getting green algae on the glass. Medium light 15g volume.

I'm thinking I should drop seaChem altogether, buy some dry ferts, and start ei dosing in the Biocube. What do you think? I'm so lost when it comes to light co2 and ferts. I really need some help please. Looking for a solid clear answer. Something I can apply immediately for eager to see results. What I have been doing doesn't seem to be working.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-04-2012, 05:22 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

I should add, both these tanks are doing very well meaning the algae isn't tanking over and plants are doing well. I just want to get thing balanced better hence getting ride of algae.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-04-2012, 04:54 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)