ro water remineralizer?? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-20-2012, 11:55 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (44/100%)
ro water remineralizer??

well i am using RO Water and i was wondering what is the cheapest way to get my ro mineralize ? for my yellow neo shrimps and my OEBT? i heard the when using RO water you need to remineralize the water... true or false? and if true... what do i need to add back into it and also what do i need to buy? where to get it cheap and how much of it do i need to mix? i'm using about 30 gals of water...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-21-2012, 07:13 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
I am not a pro. I just started using 100% r/o on my planted tank because I have liquid rock out of my tap. Now I can tell you it gets a little tricky. First you must add back the GH, general hardness, which can be done cheaper by going to Aquarium fertilizer .com. You can buy potassium sulfate , calcium sulfate, & magnesium sulfate. I believe its 3 parts ca, 1 part Mg, 3 parts k. But double check on the site. Then you have to add back the Kh using regular baking soda to the level you need by using the kh test kit. Then you will need a good trace element for your livestock. I use seachem trace elements. Now seachem also sells a gh booster that is very popular but could act as a buffer & could be more expensive. If you want to grow plants you will also need additional fertilizer as well. To answer your question , yes you do need to remineralize or certain death to any of your creatures & or plants will happen fast!!!!! Do your homework and experiment. I just gave you the basics. Buy a hardness regency test kit & kh regency, you are gonna need them for sure. Good luck
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-21-2012, 01:34 PM
Obsessed? Maybe

PTrader: (501/100%)
Since this is for sensitive shrimp, you likely won't want to DIY this.