New to fertilizers & need some help - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-28-2012, 05:07 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to fertilizers & need some help

I have a semi-high tech 3 gallon tank that I set up recently. It has medium/high light, DIY CO2, and dirt substrate topped with gravel and sand. I've been reading about fertilizers, and I think I'd like to start using them on this tank.

I've never used fertilizers on a tank before, since my previous tanks have all been low tech, so I'm a bit confused. I'd like a nice, cheap, simple to use fertilizer that I can buy locally (at Petsmart/Petco). I want to start slow, so I'd prefer to get just one that has most of the extra nutrients a moderately planted tank will need. I know I'll probably eventually need to dose macros seperately, but if such a thing exists, I'd like to initially get a fertilizer that has both micros and macros.

So, I have a few questions...
1. Does anyone have any suggestions for fertilizers? I've heard good things about Flourish. Is it a good fertilizer?

2. Would you recommend liquid fertilizers or dry fertilizers to start?

Thank you!

3g Picotope, 2.5g NPT, 20g betta community NPT.
.`.`..`.><(((>o ̡͌ı̴̴̡̡̡ l̡̡̡ ̡͌l̡*̡̡ ̴̡ı̴̴̡
Opalo, Mr. Gold, & Granite the male bettas
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-28-2012, 05:15 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (65/100%)
Hi MameJenny,

It would be difficult to accurately dose dry ferts for such a small volume of water, and the amount you would have to buy would probably last your for years.

I would recommended Seachem Flourish Comprehensive and Flourish Excel; a medium sized bottle will probably last you for months!

45 Gallon with DIY CO2 and Flourish Comprehensive and Excel

Roy_________
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.