Double checking -- ferts and/or CO2 needed here? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 08-26-2012, 02:48 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (19/100%)
Double checking -- ferts and/or CO2 needed here?

So I'm still learning about lighting vs ferts vs CO2. I've been randomly adding ferts to the tank but not sure if they're needed or if I'm dosing enough. I just did a rescape of the tank using fairly low light plants and I'd rather get some info now on how to proceed before I overdo it and get algae or underdo it and have dead plants.

Specs:
  • Tank: 40 breeder
  • Lights: T5NO dual bulb fixture, total of 42 watts (I know that's somewhat antiquated but I'm not sure what my PAR etc is) and one single bulb T8 fixture with an additional 17 watts; so about 1.5 wpg total. (I'm not thrilled with the look of the large T8 hood so if I can get away with just the T5 fixture or maybe add another T5 I'd like to do that)
  • Substrate: regular aquarium sand from PetCo
  • Plants: Java Fern, Peacock moss, Anubias, Vallisneria
  • Ferts: I mixed ferts from dry according to the PPS Pro recipe. Right now I'm dosing about 2-3 ml of Macros and Micros on alternate days. I also have root tabs but haven't used them yet and not sure if they would be sufficient alone or used in addition to ferts. I dose a small amount of Iron on the third day, maybe 1-2 ml
  • CO2: none (needed?)
  • I do also dose a small amount of Excel (maybe 1-3 ml 3x weekly)
I just started this regime a couple of weeks ago as I said I just replanted the tank with low-light plants so I'm not sure whether in the long-run this would be sufficient or end up causing problems (e.g. too much ferts with slow-growing plants, etc)