should you dose if parameters are ok? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2005, 01:30 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
should you dose if parameters are ok?

Have a new tank, 4 weeks or so. Since I am completely new to tanks, I test like an SOB. Usually test everyday for NO3, PO4, pH, KH, GH, and sometimes others. Even use different brands to compare.

If my nitrates are between 5-10 3 days after dosing, does it still make sense to dose ala EI? Seems to me if the parameters are "in the good range" that dosing does not make sense. Right?

I know that EI is supposed to take the testing out of the equation, and one day I'm sure it will for me, but not just now.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2005, 02:29 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
one of the main points of EI is that often you cant trust testkits. if it shows a NO3 reading of 5-10, you can't be 100% sure that it actually is. At that low of a reading it could be bottomed out quickly.

5-10 is pretty low anyway, but how much light do you have (in wpg)? Your NO3 reading can get quite high before there are any negative effects. This includes the effects on fish (my Rays have many times been in NO3 readings of 80ppm+... not good, but no harm done).

So, dosing more definately doesnt hurt, and it will reinsure you that you wont have a bottom out of NO3 and algae pop up. I would personally continue to dose.

Cliff
450g Planted Discus Tank - Work in Process!
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-26-2005, 08:14 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (267/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey
Have a new tank, 4 weeks or so. Since I am completely new to tanks, I test like an SOB. Usually test everyday for NO3, PO4, pH, KH, GH, and sometimes others. Even use different brands to compare.