Urea results - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 07-27-2012, 06:04 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (6/100%)
Urea results

I know this isn't scientific but I'm not a scientist. I took 1 week and literally measured a lindernia India stem. It grew about a 1/2". That was using the pps method out of a 500 ml solution. I doesd 2ml of the NPK and 5ml trace every day for 7 days. I then started dosing the urea (seachem) not my own mix and dosed phosphorus (seachem). After another 7 days I measured the same stem and it had grown over 1 1/8". This is a 10 gallon tank. With 7 wpg. I also noticed a reduction in my thread algae problem, other plants colors were brighter too. Please let me reiterate I am not a scientist and this was not a controlled experiment. It is totally anecdotal. JUST MY OBSERVATION ONLY. I have seen enough that I am going to continue using these fertilizers. Btw I did 2 water changes.

Thanks Todd Ziegler
Always question those who claim to have the truth!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 07-27-2012, 06:26 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (76/94%)
There is a reason we've been using urea in RootMedic ferts since the beginning. It works. Ammonical Nitrogen is consumed by plants more efficiently than KNO3.
post #3 of 32 (permalink) Old 07-27-2012, 06:34 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (23/100%)
Urea is a great supplement but in no way a replacement for nitrates or ammonia. Only some plants, mainly angiosperms, can use it.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Boulders-Upon-Meadow"

My Golden Rule of planted tanks: WWTAD-
"What would Takashi Amano do?"

RAOK Club #69

post #4 of 32 (permalink) Old 07-27-2012, 06:49 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (71/100%)