High Nitrates in Tap Water - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-24-2012, 06:26 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (15/100%)
High Nitrates in Tap Water

Here is a letter I wrote to our local news paper about the high Nitrate in our local tap water. It's really disturbing.

-----

I am concerned about the quality of the water we drink on the Eastern Shore and we all have a reason to be concerned. I graduated from Salisbury University and currently work in their Web Department. I started out with a ten-gallon fish tank and now have four freshwater aquariums, which I fill with Salisbury tap water. I routinely monitor the water; I test the pH, Ammonia and Nitrite at least twice monthly using APIís Freshwater Master Test Kit. When I first started testing in January all the tests came back normal, except for Nitrates. The test was showing levels between 40 to 60ppm, which is above the legal limit of 45ppm. This is the same tap water we drink daily and use for cooking. Boiling this water will only raise the concentration of Nitrates.

I have personally tested the water at Salisbury University, near Schumacher Pond and near the Centre at Salisburyóall these results came back above 40ppm. After receiving data from an accurate nitrate ion-selective electrode test, the results were as follow: 7.68 mg/L (ppm) of Nitrate-Nitrogen (NO3-N) and 33.8pm of Nitrate (NO3-) in the tap water.