Water Perimeters - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-22-2012, 06:43 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Red face Water Perimeters

Hi there,

I'm new to the planted aquarium (My tank has been setup for 7 mo.) It's a small Fluval planted aquarium setup (about 7 gallons). I'm having trouble keeping cherry shrimp. My Amano shrimp are doing well, but something leeps going wrong. I fear my bio filter is a piece of junk. Below are my water perimeters. I'm trying to get my PH down, my hardness might be high and now there might be a bit of ammonia. I just put in a charcoal piece to my filter this morning. Prior it had only been the bio foam.

I use a API Master test kit
I inject CO2 (Using a setup I purchased separately) 1 bubble per second
PH 7.6
High range PH 7.4
Ammonia 0=.25 ppm
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
GH 143.2 ppm (8 drops) This is confusing, one chart for both. Is this too hard?
KH 161.1??? (9 drops)
Good surface movement
Lighting is bright
ADA fertilizers
I use declorinized tap water and get PH down a bit with drops (I know that's not great)

Any advice would be great, as my last cherry shrimp I moved to a glass jar. And he molted that night when I removed him from the aquarium.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-22-2012, 07:25 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (5/100%)
Add active substrate like Ada, use reverse osmosis or distill water, or buy a lot of alder cones if tea color water is not a problem. The problem is probably your ammonia since your tank is not done cycle yet, not the ph.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-23-2012, 02:35 PM
Wannabe Guru

Having some ammonia and zero nitrates tells me your tank isn't cycled. That much ammonia is lethal to fish, let alone shrimp. Cycle the tank and only add shrimp when the nitrates have come up to about 10ppm, and you have zero nitrites and ammonia. I wouldn't worry too much about the pH, but I would stop using pH down.