Water quality with a Whole house water softener - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-06-2012, 02:38 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Water quality with a Whole house water softener

I've got several questions about water quality so bare with me.

I just moved into a new house in February, and I'm in the process of accumulating tanks, since I finally have the space for a fish room. It looks like the water in the house is run through a pair of water softeners

Right now i have 4 low tech tanks set up, and everything is going fine. I don't normally do much of any water testing, but I'm trying out my first dirt tank, and I want to get more into breeding, and maybe some more high tech tanks, so I got a master test kit. Ammonia/ nitrite/ nitrate/ ph/ high ph.

When i tested my main tank I got a ph of 6.0. I figured no big deal my water must be on the low side, and my driftwood and other naturally scavenged decor, are probably lowering it over time.

Then i tested my recently setup fishless nonmineralized dirt substrate 10g tank, and found out my cycle isn't over yet, and my ph is 8.0. Now I realize probably have no buffers.

Now I'm not sure whati need to do or how much of a problem this us going to cause, or whati can do about it. So far the only problem I have is a massive algae outbreak in my dirted tank, but I'm assuming that is from excesss nutrients/ to much light, so I'm considering diy co2. Doesn't that lower ph? I want to breed angelfish, and then try discus so I need to get my water stabilized. Soft water is better for angels and discuss right?

Does anyone else use softened water?
What should I be testing for?
How can I buffer my water?
Is it normal for a dirted tank to have a high ph while cycling?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tapatalk 2

Lifetime aquarium addict!

Check out my YouTube aquarium channel: