Help me understand dry ferts! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-29-2012, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (19/100%)
Help me understand dry ferts!

Hello!
I'm not a newbie at planted tanks but I'm no expert either.
I have been using the seachem flourish comprehensive and excel for my tanks and now I'm learning that I have a deficiency of either potassium or phosphorus.

I know that buying dry ferts will do the same, be cheaper to buy and last longer than buying the seachem products but they confuse me.

What dry ferts would I need to buy to replace the flourish comprehensive and have K and P?
Do they have a dry version of excel?
Where do you buy it?

Thanks for educating me!
Jasmine

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-29-2012, 10:56 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
There are Macro-fertilizers, (N,P,K, Nitrogen, Phosphates and Potassium). And there are micro-fertilizers, that you are putting in with your flourish. You can dose KNO3, and get Nitrates and Potassium:

http://greenleafaquariums.com/aquari...m-nitrate.html

and dose KH2PO4 for your Phosphates. These will not replace the Flourish, you will still need it for Micro's. You could replace it with this if you want:

http://greenleafaquariums.com/aquari...ntex-csmb.html

It would help if you would give all the information you have about your tank. Size, (gallons, and dimensions) lights, fish and plants.

Standard 10 Gallon (20 x12x12).
Low tech, Sand substrate.
Eheim 2211, and Aqueon Quietflow 10.
Finnex Stingray LED, 20" above substrate
2 Anubias Nana Petite, Christmas moss.
4 Halequin Rasborahs, 5 RCS.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-29-2012, 11:40 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)