I don't get EI method - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-29-2005, 11:37 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question I don't get EI method

I have been reading through various boards around the net and this whole "don't test your water" thing makes absolutely zero sense to me. Why on earth would you NOT test your water? How on earth do you know what your levels are if you're not testing?

This seems like very bad advice ???
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-29-2005, 12:28 PM

Until you have your program set, you do test your water. Once it is set, you will see very little variation in your nutrient parameters rendering it pointless to test so often. I will test once a month because I am fairly new to this, but for people who have been doing it a long time know what they are adding. Lets say you do overdose, the program involves a 50-70% water change weekly which basically resets all parameters. It has been a great program for me and many others. It keeps things simple stupid (in my mind at least) and algae free.

Brian
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-29-2005, 01:40 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (26/100%)
As Brian said, you want to do some testing when you first start to see how much your plants consume under the lighting/fish load/feeding pattern you establish in your tank. Then you basically follow the routine weekly. It's better to have more nutrients than they need than to bottom out on anything. Once you bottom out, then the algae will kick in. I use it, and it works great for me.

Bert
Filstar pimp #19

post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-05-2005, 08:18 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (267/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue