First Ferts - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 05-19-2005, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
First Ferts

Hi,

I'm just getting into the hobby and need some suggestions of the "first ferts" I should purchase. Currently, I only have TE Flourish.

Should I purchase from GregWatson.com? If so, which chemicals should I purchase?

Thanks,
BC
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 48 (permalink) Old 05-19-2005, 08:46 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
Start off with 3lb of KNO3 and 1lb each of KH2PO4 and K2SO4. The latter you may never need, but it's not expensive and you'll have if you do ever need it.

You might also order 1lb of CSM+B if you want to get away from buying bottles of Flourish.

—Bill

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 48 (permalink) Old 05-19-2005, 08:48 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Oh, and depending on the hardness of your water you may want to order some Calcium Chloride (CaCl3).

You might also be able to find this at places like Lowes or HomeDepot where they sell supplies for dehumidifiers, but it's usually more expensive per pound at those places.

—Bill

|

post #4 of 48 (permalink) Old 05-20-2005, 01:13 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (65/100%)
Actually if you are doing to suggested levels you will go though a LOT more K2SO4 than KNO3.

I recommend that you buy about 2-3x as much K2SO4 than KNO3. If you need phosphates then you will need KH2PO4, and a pound will last a very long time.

If you also want traces you can order the Plantex CSM+B. A pound will last a very long time with this one also.

If you have very low gH get some calcium chloride. You can get Epsom Salts anywhere for the other half of the gH. Baking soda works just fine if you have low kH.