Adding and measuring K+ - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-14-2005, 10:06 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Adding and measuring K+

I am using all my ferts and keep all parameters at optimum level except K that is the most difficult to measure.The K added through KNO3 might not be enough and I dont know how much extra K2so4 to add.I started studying the PPS method but i would like to know a rough method of fertilizing until I finish my studies.....

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-14-2005, 11:11 PM
Wannabe Guru

I use the Lamotte Potassium Test Kit and I love it, it works great. You have to use distilled or RO/DI water with it though. It also helps to have a bright overhead light and a white surface to hold the test tube over. I ordered mine from Clarkson Lab. No "add to cart," you have to email them, but they will reply and have the kit drop shipped from Lamotte.

I try to keep K levels around 30 ppm. Anywhere from 20-50 if fine IMHO.

Add 0.008436 grams of K2SO4 per gallon to raise K by 1 ppm. For example, for a 30 gallon tank, to raise K by 20 ppm add 5.06 grams K2SO4.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-15-2005, 08:21 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (267/100%)
You can easily estimate what your weekly dosing of K+ is.

Then use that with a 50% water change. The K+ level will never build beyond 2x the weekly dose ever(this assumes no uptake by the plants).

If you add KNO3, it's unlikely you need more K+ than is supplied by ther K in the KNO3. You'd need 4x more NO4 relative to K+ before a deficency started.

Test kits are poor at the higher ranges, 10-50ppm. Spectrophotmeters are highly accurate and costly.

A range of K+ is fine, higher levels up to 40-50ppm cause no adverse effects.

If you target 10-20ppm of K+ for weekly dosing(no tank would ever require more than this), then you need not worry.

There is ample K+ for the plants.