20 Gallon Anyone? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-21-2005, 12:04 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (30/100%)
20 Gallon Anyone?

I currently have a 20 gallon long heavily planted tank. It's really my first high light tank, so I'm a little new at this. Anyway, my plants are doing okay, but many have defficiencies or just aren't growing very well. Specifficly I am having most problems with E. Stellatus and Ludwigia inclinata var. verticillata 'Cuba'. My tanks stats are:
68 total watts CF at 6500K
3- 2 liter bottles DIY co2
N-1/8 tsp KNO3 every other day
P-2 ppm via mono pottasium phosphate solution every other day
K-1/4 tsp K2SO4 every other day
50% water change every week
I cant get a good co2 reading, but it seems to be around 15 ppm which I know is too low, but I don't know how to fix it without getting pressurized, which I can affor yet. Does anyone have any suggestions, or would anyone with a 20 gallon post your stats on ferts and stuff? This would really help me out.

Thanks,
Devin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-21-2005, 02:30 PM
BSS

PTrader: (12/100%)
With 3x2l DIY CO2 bottles, you should be able to get better CO2 ppm. How are you diffusing it into the tank? Do you have lots of turbulence on the water surface?

I'm betting CO2 is the major driver in the growth rate and deficiencies.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-21-2005, 03:20 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (2/100%)
Send a message via AIM to IUnknown
Kind of technical, but look through this,http://aquascapingjournals.com/journ...llon_setup.htm

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-22-2005, 01:35 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Quote:
With 3x2l DIY CO2 bottles, you should be able to get better CO2 ppm. How are you diffusing it into the tank? Do you have lots of turbulence on the water surface?