In Search of Balance... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-07-2011, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
In Search of Balance...

I have been running a 32G tank for since 2009 now and regardless of how much research I put into it, I seem to be having a hard time running a planted tank. I know that there are lost of factors that come into play to successfully maintain a planted tank. A lot of entries in forums across the internet talk about the “tank balance”, and it seems that no matter what I try, I always end up with two situations that I dislike:
  • Plants thrive for the first few weeks and start showing signs of browning and dying off;
  • Algae starts to slowly take over the tank;
I should state that my tank has very low light: approximately 1.25 wpg, lit through 2 T8 bulbs at 20w each. Many have remarked on the fact that this isn’t enough light for the tank and while I agree, I have also researched it long enough to find some interesting posts and blogs that state that there is no reason I shouldn’t have a planted tank if I pick plants that require low light. Some posts even go as far as saying that more light will only mean that the plants will grow faster, and require more nutrients and that one should be able to have a low-light planted tank if the right balance is found. I should also state that I have inert substrate: straight gravel, which is plugged with Flourish plant tabs around the echinodorus species.