Types of fertilization methods to discuss - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 133 (permalink) Old 10-30-2011, 05:08 PM Thread Starter
I ♥ BBA!

PTrader: (112/100%)
Types of fertilization methods to discuss

EDIT: I have updated my thread title and also added this disclaimer: I am a hobbyist and my posts should be taken with a grain of salt. It is my attempt to have a pleasant discussion on the whys and hows of fertilization. Not us versus them mentality. Sorry if this was not clear and caused confusion.

I've been doing a lot of research the past year or so on the methods of fertilization. There seem to be a few main thoughts:

1. Closely follow a method you decided to use, be loyal to this method but without really understanding it, defend it until you are exhausted and created enemies.
2. Fertlize more than the plants will ever need, reset the tank as needed.
3. Fertilize based on what the plants need not a bit more.
4. Substrates are the key, water column dosing isn't necessary.
5. Fertilization methods? What are those? Who cares? My plants grow great without anything but sunlight and guppies.
6. Fully comprehend your tanks needs from filtration to fertilization. Approach each tank in a rhythmic manner.

For instance, in the Western culture, the approach is often found to be more is better: high water nutrients, high co2. Yet, in Eastern cultures it often the opposite: high nutrients in the substrate, little to none in the water and low, manageable co2. Polar opposites as if they were magnets flipped pushing away from one another. I find this extremely amusing as it just goes to show we still have a long way to go in this hobby and it is constantly changing.