Which root tabs? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-19-2011, 03:04 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (5/100%)
Which root tabs?

I want to get some root tabs for the Crypts in my 55. I was looking at RootMedic's site and am not sure if I should get the RootMedic Plus or the Plus Iron (don't remember the exact name) I am thinking that the one with iron is probably best for plants like swords, etc. and that the plus would be OK for my needs. But, I wanted to get some opinions from you guys. I am also considering making some diy tabs using Osmocote Plus. I know it would be a lot cheaper, but also more work. How do they compare to RM in terms of effectiveness and longevity?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-19-2011, 04:02 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (18/100%)
I'm a total newb and have no idea what particular plants need, but I have found that OC+ and RM Complete are a lot similar and a little different:

Osmocote appears to be
N=15%
P= 9%
K=12%

And the RootMedic appears to be
N=14%
P=10%
K=11%

OC+
------------
Total NITROGEN (N) 15.0%
8.0% Ammoniacal Nitrogen
7.0% Nitrate
AVAILABLE PHOSPHATE (P2O5)† 9.0%
SOLUBLE POTASH (K2O)† 12.0%
CALCIUM (Ca)† 1.9%
MAGNESIUM (Mg) (Total)†
0.7% Water Soluble Magnesium (Mg) 1.4%
SULFUR (S) (Total)†
4.0% Combined Sulfur (S) 4.0%
BORON (B)† 0.02%
COPPER (Cu) (Total)
0.05% Water Soluble Copper (Cu) 0.05%
IRON (Fe) (Total)†
0.42% Water Soluble Iron (Fe)
0.03% Chelated Iron (Fe) 0.45%
MANGANESE (Mn) (Total)†
0.06% Water Soluble Manganese (Mn) 0.06%
Molybdenum (Mo)† 0.02%
Zinc (Zn) (Total)
0.019% Water Soluble Zinc (Zn)† 0.05%

RMC
------------
Nitrogen: 14%
Phosphate: 10%
Soluble Potash: 11%
Calcium: 1.9%
Mg: 1.4%
Sulfur: 3.7%
Boron .02%
Copper: .05%
Iron: .5%
Manganese: .05%
Molybdenum: .02%
Zinc: .05%