Question about fertilizers (newbie here) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-10-2011, 01:53 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (19/100%)
Question Question about fertilizers (newbie here)

So this is my first planted tank and this whole dosing thing really confuses me a lot. I don't quite understand it and would like some advice. To start out, here are my tank specs:

60G Specs:
Tank - 60G Marineland (48"x12"x24")
Filter - Aquaclear 70 along with a powerhead
Lighting - 2x32W T8 6500k
Co2 - None
Heater - 200W (forgot the name brand)
Substrate - Miracle Grow Organic Choice capped with Flourite/Pea Gravel mix
Flora - Hornwort, Anubias Nana, Java Fern, Red Leaf Ludwigia, Anacharis, Amazon Sword, Compact Sword, Dwarf Sag, Val, Wisteria, Crypt Wendtii
Faune - None as of yet (most likely within the next day or so though)

I put plants in my tank on Friday and they seem to be doing alright. I put in some API Leaf Zone as described on the bottle, but I don't know how often I will have to do this (once a week or more)? I am going to pick up a bottle of Flourish Excel to help with Co2 and also a bottle of Flourish Iron as I have some plants with red leaves.

Are there any other fertilizers I should pick up as well?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Who would have thought that plants like dirt?!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-10-2011, 02:56 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (1/100%)
Get Root Tabs or Osmocote + in gel caps. You can buy some here or see what your store carries.

Heavy root feeders like Swords appreciate it. Though dirt may be enough ???

I dose Leaf Zone weekly after water changes.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-10-2011, 03:42 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (68/100%)