Bottles of water outside supermarket in place of RO/DI water? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-01-2011, 04:00 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Bottles of water outside supermarket in place of RO/DI water?

Hi all,

I'm quite poor at the moment, and am planning to get a RO/DI system for my shrimp when I get a little bit more money. However, in the meantime, could I use the water they sell outside supermarkets for my top offs?

Someone mentioned to me that the water there is filtered the same way.

Also, since I'm new to the whole RO/DI water, can someone explain to me what I would need to add to the water to make it suitable for shrimp?

Thank you

kH = 3
gH = 3
pH = 6.4 (7.5 out of tap)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-01-2011, 04:03 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (3/100%)
Yeah you can use the water that they sell in those dispensers or aqua stores.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-01-2011, 03:25 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (68/100%)
Rather than using water from those machines which may shift with the age of the filter assembly I used bottled distilled water for almost a year before installing my RO unit.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If at first you don't succeed,,, keep kicking it
RubberSideDownOnTheLanding,
2-75g planted, 3-55g planted, 110g w/30g sump, 2018 update returning to sanity (Nutz)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-01-2011, 04:11 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (24/100%)
Send a message via AIM to HolyAngel