Dosing Help - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-18-2011, 10:18 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (18/100%)
Dosing Help

Hi:

I am a noob and have a 90 gallon planted tank with pressurized CO2.

I started fertilizing recently using the Aquariumfertilizer.com product "Macro Micro Nutrient Mix" which contains equal parts of KNO3, K2SO4, MgSO4, Plantex CSM+B.

Further research revealed that I needed to add Phosphate. I purchased MonoPotassium Phosphate (MKP).

Even further research revealed that I should be doing the EI method that requires more Nitrate. I purchased some KNO3 and K2SO4.

Since I do not want to waste my Macro Micro Nutient Mix, how can I dose the following products in my 90 gallon to equate the EI dosing:

1. Macro Micro Mix: KNO3+K2SO4+MgSO4+CSM+B
2. Mono Potassium Phosphate: MKP
3. Potassium Nitrate: KNO3
4. Potassium Sulfate: K2SO4

I will do a weekly 50% WC.

Thanks!

Last edited by RainSong; 08-19-2011 at 12:26 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2011, 02:59 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (8/100%)
just throw more in there than you need if your plants are happy... so is your tank generally speaking.u wont need #4 on the list. i dont know the exact nutrient level of the fert mix but i would say you could easilly add 1/4- 1/2 of a tsp of KNO3 and 1/16 - 1/8 of a tsp of MKP and be fine.
once again healthy plants will equal a happy algae free tank

Sump Pimp #7

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-2011, 03:06 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (18/100%)
Thanks!

Based on the charts/compositions etc., I figured:

2 Tsp Macro Micro
1 Tsp KNO3
1/4 Tsp MKP