Question about my water parameters!! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-05-2011, 08:08 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question about my water parameters!!

Hello everyone....figured I may get more replies in this thread.....I'm new to The Planted Tank however, I have had a planted tank for almost 1 year now. However, recently I am noticing a bit of a problem. I am finding that my pH is actually dipping quite low into the 5.5-6 range within my tank. I have tested my water from the tap: pH-7.0, GH 2.24, KH 0.56.....the GH and KH in the tank remain the same but the pH is usually in the 5.5-6 range. I am doing a injected CO2 obviously, which usually ranges in the 20-30ppm. I know the problem here is my buffering capacity, as I seem to have none. The question I am having is....would it be viable to add about a 2 lb piece of Texas Holy Rock to the aquarium and continue to use the CO2, with ferts and lights etc, and have a more stable pH......I'm hlooking to stay in the 6.5-7.5 range....let me know what you think, if you have any ideas, or need more info!!

Thanks!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-05-2011, 08:19 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (60/100%)
don't know much about texas holy rock, but a lot of people add baking soda to raise KH
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-05-2011, 08:22 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

yeah I have thought about that, however, I have heard that option is relatively unstable compared to adding say crushed coral in a nylon baggie (which was my next idea)....just not sure if the Texas Holy Rock will drastically raise the KH to the point where my PH is in the 8 range, which I dont want

post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-05-2011, 08:30 PM
Planted Tank Guru