Too "d..mn" many plants! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-16-2011, 10:33 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Too "d..mn" many plants!

OK I've been doing this plant thing for 3 years now and I need to throttle back the pedal!

Right now I dose 7 ppm NO3, 1 ppm PO4 and 7 ppm K per week. I also dose the equivalent of 0.06 grams of CSM +B (I have no clue what that is in teaspoons) a week.

I'm at 20 ppm CO2 (controlled) and my lighting is about 4.5 watts/gal at about 12 hrs. per day. (This is about 3000 lux at plant level).

I change 20% of my tank water per week (I physically cannot do more).

At this rate, I double my plant mass about every 2-3 weeks. I have to re-scape my tanks every 4-6 months. Siphon and dump 40 gal of water a week and do lot of plant mowing in my water lawns!

On the plus side, I can grow any plant I want, I don’t worry about algae, I can breed any fish that has been known to breed in captivity and spend $50 a week paying my grandson to help me with the work. (Actually, working with my grandson is one of the things I like to do)
BTW I check my water parameters about 1/month or more often when things don’t look right and my tank parameters are consistently about 10-20 ppm NO3, 0.2 – 1 ppm PO4, 10 – 20 ppm K. My water is fairly soft, Ca at 20 ppm and Mg at 10 ppm. Carbonate hardness is at kH = 4.0 deg.

OK, how can I spend my time (money) working with my grandson fishing instead of mowing plants and changing water?

If you play with chemicals you should know some chemisty.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-16-2011, 10:56 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (115/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray-the-pilot View Post
OK I've been doing this plant thing for 3 years now and I need to throttle back the pedal!