Compatibility of organic ferts vs aquarium ferts? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-09-2011, 08:29 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (10/100%)
Compatibility of organic ferts vs aquarium ferts?

Is there any reason I couldn't use my regular cal/mag supplements and weak bat guano teas as fertilizers?

As long as the dosing isn't too high is there any reason this shouldn't work?

Any problems with using superthrive and other vitamin B and rooting hormone supplements in low levels?

My assumption is that aquarium nutrients are just very diluted fully mineralized forms of typical nitrogen dominant fertilizers: Is this wrong?

I'm new to planted tanks so please enlighten me.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 03:13 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (5/100%)
Aquarium fertilzers are solid ionic salts for the most part and really cheap. Can you explain what you want to acccomplish using bat poop and what not?
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 03:50 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

Quote:
Originally Posted by lipadj46 View Post
Aquarium fertilzers are solid ionic salts for the most part and really cheap. Can you explain what you want to acccomplish using bat poop and what not?
I have organic fertilizers available. Oh jeez aquarium ferts are salt based. I was thinking organic ferts would be better as they contain less salts but then seachem uses urea so I guess salt build ups aren't too much of a concern in the aquarium.