Yet another do I need fertilizer question. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-08-2011, 02:15 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (3/100%)
Yet another do I need fertilizer question.

So here is my story:

I'm pretty new to the hobby, started my 29 gallon planted aquarium less than 2 weeks ago. Its been a few days since my first planting and stuff is definitely growing!

Here is my setup.

Light : 2 x 24 Watts Zoo-Med Aquasun T5HO about 20-22 inches above the substrate. According to the PAR data, this puts me at "high" light, but considering the poor quality of my reflector, I am under the assumption that this is actually "medium" light.

Co2 : I am planning to dose Excel. Trying to avoid a pressurized co2 system if at all possible, cost is not the issue. It is for purely aesthetic reasons as I don't want any extra equipment around my aquarium.

Substrate : 2 bags of Eco-complete Red mixed with a bag of fluorite. Mixed for color variation and no other reason.

Nutrients: I'm currently only using Seachem's flourish, which covers most of my micros.

My temperatures are generally around 79 F, PH at around 7-7.5.

My Bioload is as follows:

10 Rasbora
1 Pearl Gourami
6 Kuhli Loaches
4 Yo-Yo Loaches

The Questions

1. Do I have too much light for an excel only setup?

2. I am aware of the macro nutrients - Nitrogen, Phosphorous, and Potassium. I know I will probably have to inject some K, but are Nitrogen and Phosphorous necessary given my bioload and the available nitrates?

3. Is there an obvious algae situation here?

--

I see a lot of people dose dry ferts almost indiscriminately, and I am wondering if I should follow this strategy. My big thing is having to do a 50% water change every week, I would prefer to keep it at 20-25% max.